Each U.S. state has its own traffic laws to ensure its citizens drive responsibly and stay as safe as possible on the road. In Missouri, depending on the infraction, violators are subject to tickets, criminal charges, or even jail time. To help you avoid any offenses, here are a few of the driving laws to know.
What Are Some Common Traffic Law Violations in Missouri?
1. Reckless Driving
Reckless driving means someone is operating a vehicle negligently or in a dramatically unsafe manner. In Missouri, breaking the speed limit by more than 20 miles per hour is automatically considered reckless driving.
First-time violators can be fined up to $1,000 and face a year of jail time. They could also lose their licenses for a year.
You can be arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Missouri if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. This drops to 0.02% for people under 21 and 0.04% for commercial drivers. Missouri is a “per se” state, meaning no other evidence beyond the BAC is needed to convict. This is true even if you feel you are not significantly impaired.
A first offense is a Class B penalty, which includes a maximum jail sentence of six months and a maximum fine of $500. You may also be subject to a temporary loss of driving privileges.
3. Driving While Suspended
Driving with a suspended license results in harsh penalties.
A first offense is a Class D misdemeanor, with possible fines of $500. A second or third offense is a Class A misdemeanor, with fines of up to $2,000 and up to a year in jail. A fourth offense—or a third offense that occurs within 10 years of the two previous offenses—is a Class E felony that carries mandatory jail time and can net you as much as four years in prison.
If you have been charged with a traffic law infraction, contact the Traffic Law Firm in Troy, MO, to protect your rights. They have provided 325 hours of free consultations and reinstated 12 drivers’ licenses for clients whose privileges were unjustly revoked. They specialize in defense of DWI, reckless driving, and other traffic violations. Call (636) 462-7867 to schedule a consultation or learn more about their practice online.